skip navigation

RAAA Wrestling

Season starts in

0
Days
0
Hours
0
Minutes
0
Seconds
OUR 2018-2019 TEAM

GENERAL INFORMATION

Rockford Youth Wrestling is open to students of any skill level from 4 years old/PreK through 6th grade

Schedule

Practices are held on Tuesdays and Thursdays from November 7, 2019 through March 5, 2020 at the RCC in the Rockford High School Wrestling Room.

Beginner: 6:00-6:45 p.m.

Advanced: 6:30-8:00 p.m.

Practice Attire:  Wrestling/indoor only shoes, shorts, a t-shirt and protective headgear are recommended

All registered wrestlers will receive a free t-shirt and free registration to the Rockford Youth Wrestling Tournament (01/18/20). 

Goals of RAAA Youth Wrestling

Our intent is to create an opportunity for both boys and girls to develop their skills as wrestlers and student athletes.  There will be opportunities during the season for wrestlers to exhibit their developing skills against wrestlers from surrounding communities, including tournaments and team dual meets.

Why Should Kids Wrestle?

  • Wrestling builds intensity, footwork, agility, balance, strength & body awareness
  • Wrestling teaches discipline
  • Wrestling instills confidence
  • Wrestling teaches self-reliance
  • Wrestling teaches mental toughness
  • Wrestlers learn how to respect their opponents
  • It is one of the few sports where a child's foot speed, ball-handling skills, hand-eye coordination, & size do not matter
  • There is room for everyone and wrestlers only compete against others in a similar skill/weight class

Cost:

Beginner:  $75.00
Advanced:  $100.00*

*Must have a minimum of 2 prior years knowledge of wrestling

Billy’s Bingo Fundraiser

All RAAA sports volunteer time to call Bingo at Billy’s bar in Rockford as part of our fundraising efforts every Monday night 6-8:30 p.m.  Each sport is assigned a night on a rotating basis, and that sport is responsible for three parent volunteers to call Bingo in a casual, fun environment.  This is a significant fundraising activity for us and volunteers receive $10 off an upcoming RAAA registration fee.

Optional Tournaments

There are a number of open tournaments throughout the season. Visit The Guillotine, the preeminent amateur wrestling website for the Minnesota wrestling community, for the open tournament calendar.

Questions

Email:  raaawrestling@raaasports.com

Board Contacts

Kristine Modrow – Director  (kristinemodrow@raaasports.com

Trent Shipley – Associate Director (trentshipley@kw.com)

Jessica Fitch – Treasurer (jessicafitch@raaasports.com)

Alexis Koehler – Secretary (alexiskoehler5@hotmail.com)

Jake Fitch – Board Member (jake.fitch@excelsiorllc.com)

Nick Folger – Board Member (nalanf1976@yahoo.com)

Josh Jennings – Board Member (joshjennings@gmail.com)

Billy's Bingo

Billy’s Bingo on Monday nights is staffed by RAAA sports. Three (3) volunteers are needed each night. Please go to the RAAA Dibs page to sign up under the sport you would like to volunteer for. (You will have to log into your SportsEngine account to sign up for a session)

Siteheader

RAAA Webmaster